Flying Witch

Right, now that my wordpress is allowing me to blog, I can finally give my review on ‘Flying Witch’. Thank you all for your patience and happy reading!!

Flying Witch, is about a young 15 year old professional witch called Makoto, who moves to the countryside to study witchcraft. She stays with her relatives, who have had witches on her side of the family, stay with them before her. The anime is about her making friends, farming and studying witchcraft. Yes, I said farming.

This anime is quite chilled out and, could be seen as boring. Yet, as a practising witch, this hit close to home. It is the most realistic representation of witchcraft I have seen to date. The spells are complex, they use candles and witchcraft symbols. I found it very interesting and equally entertaining. I found the anime so interesting, that I started growing herbs on my kitchen windowsill. I wanted to see what farming felt like for myself.

The art is very simple, yet has fantastic animation when the characters are not involved. There was an episode with a huge stone whale and, it showed every detail and movement. The voice acting on the other hand, is a completely different story. The voices chosen did not suit the characters and, in come cases, the voices were so unusually low, that I felt like I was going to fall asleep.

Witch that said, I can confidently say that the anime should be scrapped and, if it interests you, just read the manga. It is ten times better.

 

 

Leave a comment